Here’s a Secret

June 11, 2008 at 6:40 pm Leave a comment

I was just on Felicity’s Blog reading her interview with Gail Carson Levine (which I really adored by the way!) and read this line, “…well there’s a retelling of a fairy tale. Maybe I could do a retelling of a fairy tale.” You know what this reminds me of? Of course not but I shall tell you. A few nights ago I was trying to fall asleep and just couldn’t because I had way too much on my mind. So I started thinking about books (big surprise there…) and particularly fairy tales. I think this might have been after I wrote the response to damsels in distress. I was thinking about retellings of fairy tales and what makes them good. I finally came to the conclusion that while it’s important for the fairy tale to be a good story, it’s equally important if not more so for the reader not to recognize the fairy tale at first.

When I first read Ella Enchanted I did not put the connection together that it was a retelling of Cinderella. Same with The Storyteller’s Daughter by Cameron Dokey, which is a retelling of Arabian Nights. Nope. I was so engrossed in the story that I didn’t realize the similarities. I love it when authors can do that. Shannon Hale does a fantastic job with this as well.

Retellings of Fairy tales make me so happy 🙂

So sound off people. What’s your favorite retelling of a fairy tale?

~Firefly~

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tuesdays with Jane 50 Things I Positively Will Never Do

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,152 hits

