Tuck Everlasting

June 29, 2008 at 5:12 am 2 comments


If you could live forever, would you want to?

This is the question that Tuck Everlasting raises and offers answers to.

When I was first introduced to the story a few years ago I hated it. I didn’t read the book but I saw the movie which was enough at the time. I thought it was horribly depressing and couldn’t see why anyone would want to make a movie out of such a sad tale. Now however, studying it from a philosophical and emotional standpoint I understand what a great masterpiece it truly is.

Told in around the 1880’s in the book version and the 1910’s in the movie format, Tuck Everlasting is told from the perspective of Winifred Foster. Winnie hates her life. She wishes that her parents and grandmother would leave her be to run her life as she wishes. One day Winnie decides that she is leaving. Off she goes into the woods where she stumbles across Jessie Tuck, and with him a secret. Along with the knowledge of the secret comes a great choice: an eternity of everlasting time or returning to her life and progress forward into the unknown.

The New York Times describes it as. “A fearsome and beautifully written book that can’t be put down or forgotten.” I can personally testify that this is true. I cried when watching the movie and came to my own conclusions on the books moral. Completely worthy of five stars, and a supreme read.

Entry filed under: Book Reviews.

Leaving :) Foreign Blogging Week

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. stargazer100  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:10 pm

    I really liked this book when I read it a few years ago. (I think I was thirteen.) But I remember the age difference between Jesse and Whinnie scaring me. Wasn’t she ten and he was seventeen?

  • 2. ~Firefly~  |  June 30, 2008 at 6:40 pm

    In the movie they made her 15 while he’s still 17. But yes in the book that’s how it actually is 😛

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


June 2008
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,152 hits

