Closer- Jars of Clay

September 2, 2008 at 7:38 pm 2 comments

Well you thought you let go, but you’re still hanging on
Mother earth’s slowing down, she’s still spinning around
And we are getting dizzy

I’ll drop out of the race for more personal space
Cuz the rocket’s will in, get’s so cold and I miss your skin
It’s just how I’m feelin.

If you need more love, well you’ve got to get close to me
If you want my love, well you’ve got to get closer to me

No unreachable itch, if you hemorrhage I’ll stitch
You are tears, I’m a cheek, I’m a pail on your boat with slow leaks
out to sea for weeks

If you want my love, well you’ve got to get close to me
If you need my love, well you’ve got to get closer to me
Oh, if you want my love

I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough
I want your kite strings tangled in my dreams all wrapped up
I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough
I’ll be the comets that are fallin’ from the sky you light up…light up

You’re my shirt, I an arm
I’m the tick, you’re the bomb
You’re the L and the V, I’m the O and the E, and we…
Am I speaking clearly?

If you want my love, well you’ve got to get close to me
Ooh, if you want my love…

I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough
I want your kite strings tangled in my dreams all wrapped up
I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough
I’ll be the comets that are fallin from the sky you light up

Because I don’t understand why we can’t get close enough
I’ll miss the shivers in my spine every time that we touch.

____

I’m telling ya, I never cease to be amazed by Jars of Clay. This song is so different from their other stuff yet totally similar at the same time. And in concert they are absolutely amazing as well! (Thanks Matt and Amanda!) 😀

Entry filed under: Movies, Music.

Awesome Contest! Tuesday’s with Jane

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  September 24, 2008 at 4:46 am

    I’ve only really heard one other Jars of Clay – “Work”, which I love. Do you have any other good recommendations?

  • 2. Danielle  |  September 24, 2008 at 4:48 am

    Oh wow. I love Jars of Clay SO much! It’s hard to narrow it down…. I would recommend maybe their new EP track album which offers a few old and new songs. I believe it’s called Closer, and has this song on it as well. One of my personal favorites is their new version of Love Song for A Savior. I was thinking about posting that one too….

    Other than that, if you want more funky cool songs If I Left the Zoo is really good for that…. Redemption Songs is great remakes on worship songs, and Good Monsters has some more mellow really powerful with the lyrics sort of songs.

    I love Jars of Clay 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,152 hits

