First Day of School :)

September 3, 2008 at 11:52 pm 2 comments

I’m feeling very encouraged right now. Last night I was not.

And I suppose I’m one of those people that when I’m feeling down about something I typically pray or journal about it, and then I go and do the opposite of what I’m feeling. So, in this case I wrote a long happy e-mail! To 45 people. And I’m amazed at the effect it had!Β  I’ve received numerous replies back that have told me how grateful they were to get my e-mail, how it was good to hear from me (some I hadn’t talked to in a while…) etc. It made me feel so refreshed that I actually woke up smiling this morning about the first day of school. I also am consistently amazed at how my day flows when I take time to do a quiet time in the morning vs. not. It really helps me to put things into better perspective.

So yes! First day of school!

It was actually really, really wonderful. I know that’s strange and I probably won’t feel this way in a few weeks, but I think this year is going to be amazing based upon what I experienced today.

So my first period was Geometry. I’m not a very big math person (I’m good at it once I understand it, but it takes me a while to get there) but I don’t like it very much. Geometry is different. And I knew this going into it which definitely helps my mindset. It’s shapes and designs and engineering and is totally relevant to life. Unlike, in my opinion, Algebra πŸ˜›

Next was Biology πŸ˜€ I typically like science but after experiencing a plethora of dissections in 6th grade (thank you Mrs. Z) including almost barfing during the eyeball dissection, I am a bit hesitant about this class. And I’m not going to lie- I am a non-denominational Christian and I believe in creation, not evolution. So the prospects of that whole unit should be interesting! I’d like to make it clear though that I don’t feel threatened, and I don’t feel like I have to defend my faith at every opportunity. I just want to have answers if asked why I believe what I believe. That’s one of the reasons I’m so grateful for Worldview Academy! That has blessed me so much, in ways I can’t even begin to describe. I’m also looking at Biology (the study of life :D) as an opportunity to be further amazed at how amazingly complex life systems are. As I told one of my campers after fireside this year, all I really need to do to be sure of creation is look at a leaf and think of how complex one leaf is. A leaf is a stunning creation and it doesn’t even have a brain or a soul! How much more then, as a human being that feels and thinks independently, am I a wonderful work of art. It’s indescribable.

Third and fourth period (we do blocks at my school) for me is Humanities.

I. Am. So. Excited.

I’ve already had the sophomore humanities teacher before (as an elective freshman year for Art History) and he was wonderful then. As a core teacher, he’s seriously great. I’m completely jazzed to be in this class and can’t wait to explore it more tomorrow. To give you an example of how excited I became, first off we are required to read two books individually each quarterΒ  (with a big old assignment that goes along with that) and the books are of our choosing off a certain list. Mr. D gave us an overview of the list and on it near the very top was Jane Austen! Yeah! I’m so excited that I get to read her for school! There were manyΒ  other awesome titles on the list as well πŸ˜€

So then we had lunch. Can I just say that even though I’ve told myself I was going to be a nice sophomore, this years freshmen are making it very hard to do so. They were EVERYWHERE! I couldn’t believe it! Most people at my school do not eat in the lunchroom, preferring one of their teacher’s classrooms instead. The Freshmen obviously have not received this memo (haha, of course they haven’t :D) and had absolutely taken over the cafeteria. Literally, there was not a free table to be had unless you wanted to brave the little people (who actually looked kind of old to me…). I go to a really small school too- only around 110 or so people per class (this is on purpose due to being a themed public college prep school)- so for the freshmen to have taken up nearly every spot in the cafeteria meant that they had thoroughly spread out. Most of the sophomores and upper classmen spread out over the campus, which I suppose left the freshmen feeling a little bit abandoned; but what are you supposed to do when there’s nowhere to sit? πŸ™„ It was nice though. I ended up outside with friends for a bit, and then I moved around taking pictures for yearbook (yeah!) and ended up in the Geometry classroom (surprisingly nice at lunch!) where most of my really good friends were eating lunch πŸ˜€ Yeah for nice teachers who let us eat in their classrooms!

Advisory… It twas Advisory. Same as always, good as always πŸ˜€ For those who don’t know, Advisory is like home room after lunch. I like it.

Aerospace Engineering is going to be really good. From what I can tell, essentially easy class that sounds massively impressive on an application! It’s good to get a science elective credit though.

And finally, Yearbook. It is what it sounds like. Good to get publishing/editing experience πŸ˜€ Especially if I’m serious about my ambitions in those areas!

So that was my first day of school, in a not so small nutshell. I missed seeing some friends that left the school over the summer and it was totally weird to see new people in my class (remember: small school equals you know everyone). It should be good though! I’m optimistic πŸ˜€

Entry filed under: Culture, Dreams, High School.

Tuesday’s with Jane A Few Camp Videos…

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leanna  |  September 4, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Cool, I’m taking Geometry and Biology this year too. πŸ™‚

  • 2. Maribeth  |  September 4, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    ^ Me too.
    It sounds like there is a lot of different, interesting classes at your school!
    Wow, it is really small, my school has about 1,000 people per class.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


September 2008
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,154 hits

