Breathing Deep…

October 3, 2008 at 2:18 am 5 comments

Well I passed my Driver’s Ed final.

I’m so relieved…

I completely messed up backing around a corner, and I hit the curb on parallel parking, and I forgot what the left hand signal was (who forgets this?!?); but I did perfect on parking on a hill and setting the car, and just driving and turning and interacting with other cars…. And amazingly I got 92/100 so I’m very grateful! I was practically crying at one point because for some random unexplainable reason I absolutely could not get the car around the corner correctly. The instructor had me redo it like five times until I did it satisfactorily. This was so nerve wracking! On the plus side, she told me that even with my performance today (which was very poor by my usual standard) I would still have passed the Department of Licensing test. It’s good to know that even driving my worse I am now officially a safe enough driver to have my license. That makes me feel so relieved. Stupid perfectionist side of me…. The weird thing about my perfectionism is that it only comes out with certain things. Things I know that I should be able to do. And when I can’t do them to my satisfaction I feel like a failure. For example, I don’t care if everything is perfectly arranged for a project. What I do care about is knowing that I did the best job that I possibly could. So this sort of perfectionism comes out in things like piano competitions. I start feeling like if I don’t do a piece justice (the way I know I can and have played it before) I feel quite sullen. It’s tough. And normally I can’t control these feelings either. My guess is that it’s part of being a passionate person. Yet at the same time, I think that life without passion is boring. It’s simply that

So now I’m just breathing deep. This week has been terribly hectic. What with ageometry test today, planning for my friend Betsy’s birthday (I love birthday schemes!), being sick and staying home from school on Tuesday, driver’s ed drives and final, Anthem rough drafts, and all my other homework… I simply haven’t had time to do anything bookish (such as planning for my NaNoWriMo!). What I have done however is think about the overall effect I want my novel to have. What is it that I like in a story? What made me sigh with happiness? How do I want my characters to make me feel? Those sorts of things. They’re small, but I think they make a huge difference. I’m looking forward to having some time to think upon these questions.

EDIT: I forgot to mention that I’m getting my license in approximately 58 days! Yikes! πŸ˜€

Entry filed under: High School, Thoughts.

A Perfect Article 16 Book Recommendations

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Q  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:03 am

    Congratulations! Good to see there’s another safe driver on the roads, because sometimes it sure doesn’t feel like it.

  • 2. anilee  |  October 3, 2008 at 11:49 am

    If you hit the curb when you parallel park, that’s an automatic failure in PA. The stupid thing is, you can go your whole life without having to parallel park, so it shouldn’t matter all that much. πŸ™„

    Congrats!

  • 3. Leigha  |  October 3, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Congrats!
    And always be a safe driver. Because some people aren’t. (Example: I was almost in an accident yesterday when I was driving because some jerk ran a red light.)

    Heh, no parallel parking on the driving test in Florida… πŸ˜‰

  • 4. Maribeth  |  October 3, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Eh. I need to study my Driver’s Ed book.

  • 5. cuileann  |  October 5, 2008 at 12:25 am

    Congratulations! πŸ™‚ Btw, I really like your header photo…don’t think I’ve noticed it before.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,152 hits

