Why is there an absurd lack of posts?

October 9, 2008 at 3:18 am 3 comments

Haha, I think it’s funny that I feel like I haven’t been posting just because I haven’t really posted anything in about a week. 

Well I do have news, actually! I’ve made progress and actually have an idea for a story! In London Tipton fashion, “Yeah me!” 

For that, I have my friend Lydia to thank. Seriously if she hadn’t had me do a stream of consciousness I doubt I ever would have come up with a story. It’s amazing having NaNoWriMo friends on the internet and in the real world. It makes it so much harder for me to chicken out of doing it. And up until two days ago when my story was born I was becoming very afraid that I had no idea what I was going to write about. It’s scary knowing that you want to write a novel, that you will be writing a novel, and then you absolutely cannot think of anything that you might write about. What’s even more scary is that if you consider yourself a typically creative person the lack of inspiration makes you question whether that’s really true! Frightening stuff. 

So… you want to know what my story is about? 😉

Can’t tell you. I barely have it figured out myself! What I will tell you, however, is that in my story depending on your status (i.e.- royal equals longer names) you have a longer name based upon your status. And yes, my main character is a Princess. I really like her name. As soon as I figured out what she was going to look like physically I decided that she needed a name so I was perusing lists of names and came across one that I really love. Linden. It’s super cool, in my opinion, and really fits her character. And just to make it all work beautifully (because I can do that! I’m the author!) there is going to be an abundance of Linden trees in the story. Her full name is Princess Linden-Emiline. Why Emiline? Because the name Emily means to strive for or towards and I thought that was really fitting for her character as well. As far as her physical appearance goes, she’s of average height (like 5″5), on the slimmer side as far as weight goes, long hair (below the elbows) and it’s kind of like Anne Hatheway color (dark brown, basically). She’s more delicate but still capable. Her eyes are the fun part, I’m really excited about them. I will tell you that there’s magic in my world (it’s a fairy tale fantasy, come on now!) and there are Faeries, Mermaids, and Elves as the three ancient races. More explanation is definitely needed as far as that goes; but that will have to come later. Anyways, Linden’s eyes are grey but they flash different colors depending on something that is yet to be decided. So say for example her elemental power is favoring Faeries, then her eyes will flash purple. Elves, green. Mermaids, blue. I really like it 😀

And as soon as I draft up a plot summary (which I’m planning on doing within the next few days) I will definitely tell you all a bit more about my story. Than I will actually have updates for the writing portion of this blog! Isn’t that exciting? Haha, I’m looking forward to it.

The nice thing about NaNoWriMo is that I don’t feel bad writing something that might not be really high quality because I’m going to do so much editing that it will totally be like a different story by the time that I finish. And shockingly, for those of you who know me at all, I am not doing a retelling of a fairy tale. I thought for sure that I was going too. And then…. I got a story idea. What can I do? I’ve been captured by (perish the thought!) an original idea. 😀 I really like it though. I think it will help me to have creative freedom.  

Anyways, life is busy. That’s why there’s an absurd lack of posts. But I will leave with a beautiful rendition of a Christmas song. It’s lovely… 

 

Entry filed under: Blog Stuff.

Tuesday’s With Jane Notebooks!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Summermoon  |  October 9, 2008 at 5:12 am

    That is so nice… BarlowGirl is awesome.

  • 2. Q  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:51 am

    That sounds really, really cool.

  • 3. Maribeth  |  October 9, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    Your story sounds great! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,155 hits

