I Do Feel Bad About Saying This But…

October 20, 2008 at 11:16 pm 14 comments

 

Gg_pb_sm

I don’t like it. Not at all. It is not how I picture Isi for many reasons. I do understand that it’s supposed to be something that draws in a new audience, for those that don’t already have mental pictures of all the charact

ers in their heads. However, I really almost hate the new cover. It’s pretty, yes, but it’s not Isi. She looks way too young. Insanely young even, and…. Ugh. I just don’t like it. And I’m quite sad about this because I really wanted to like it! I love how the Enna Burning cover turned out, and I really like Dasha as well. But I also don’t like Razo at all. Dean’s initial reaction is still how I feel about the new cover (even though it’s not very polite). 😉 

I don’t know… Most of you are all devoted Shan-Fans so what do you really think of the cover?

Entry filed under: Book Reviews, Pictures.

A Virtual Penny for your Thoughts A Half Truth Presented

14 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Q  |  October 20, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I don’t hate it as much as I hate the RS cover, but I don’t like it and am very glad I have the Alison Jay paperback.

  • 2. Maribeth  |  October 20, 2008 at 11:45 pm

    I think it’s the best of the three.

  • 3. anilee  |  October 20, 2008 at 11:59 pm

    I like it. I do. But she’s not Ani. She looks way too young and way too sweet and like she actually has some confidence. Ani is sixteen, not very sweet, and certainly lacks confidence for much of the book.

    But I do like it. It’s fairy-tale-ish.

    And gah! I’m just selfish. I want people to read BoB, but…not because of new covers. That’s just so shallow, and I hate that great books have to be subject to something like that. Same with putting a Stephenie Meyer blurb on the cover. It has nothing to do with my dislike of Stephenie Meyer but everything to do with, “Dude, you’re using SM’s name to sell Shannon’s books. That’s just wrong.”

  • 4. Maribeth  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:15 am

    I don’t think this will attract people who wouldn’t read it otherwise though.

  • 5. anilee  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:19 am

    I agree with you, Maribeth. I think it’s pretty, but whereas I think EB might gain a new readership, I know that I wouldn’t pick up RS. Maybe I’d pick up GG…but I’m not so sure…Like I do like it…but I don’t know if I like it in the sense that I want to read it or just that I like it because it’s pretty.

  • 6. Danielle  |  October 21, 2008 at 12:26 am

    With RS though it’s not as crucial that the cover attracts, because by then the reader will already be drawn on. But with GG and EB it has to be perfect…. I think this might draw in younger readers, but were the books really written for younger readers? That I can’t say, although personally I think my younger self may have enjoyed the story for the fairytaleness but I doubt they would understand the depth of GG. It has so much to offer that I don’t feel I would have understood at say, 10 or eleven years old when I was first beginning to branch into the world of YA.

    And don’t even get me started on how much I hate the Stephanie Meyer quote…. Oh my gooseness.

    Maribeth, I get how you would like it 😀 I just think it’s not right for me 😀

  • 7. Leigha  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:03 am

    It’s a very pretty cover. But it’s just not Ani. It’s not. She doesn’t look like she would have Ani’s temperament.

    And gah! I hate that SM quote. Drives me insane everytime I see it on my copy of RS.

  • 8. hwalk  |  October 21, 2008 at 2:03 am

    It is not my picture of Ani. But I still like it. I’m not expecting that they will get my picture on the cover–obviously, they can’t for everyone. But they can get someone who doesn’t look horrible, and do a good job, and it’ll be great.

  • 9. Rebecca Joy  |  October 21, 2008 at 10:38 am

    Well…I like the design. I love flourishes and swirls and stuff like that, and natureish things too. :mrgreen:

  • 10. Merissa  |  October 22, 2008 at 12:04 am

    THe flourishes are pretty, but I agree with Maribeth and Anilee, and I don’t really think it would attract that many people. The EB cover looks intriguing, but this one doesn’t look particularly more interesting than the original GG.

    And I guess they had to put that quote from Stephanie Meyer on for marketing reasons, huh?

  • 11. cuileann  |  October 22, 2008 at 2:53 am

    Urgh! I”m hoping I can wipe that girl’s face from my mind…

  • 12. Danielle  |  October 22, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Cuileann- me too.

    Merissa- I hate that stupid SM quote. Why would they disgrace Shannon’s writing with it? If it were my book I would protest 😀

    Jess- exactly. She’s not Ani.

    Ah, flourishes. Well you could put my dog in a sweater that has flourishes and it still wouldn’t be pretty 😛 Flourishes only work if they’re complementing something that is already beautiful and are not the primary source of beauty. Tis what I think 😀

  • 13. Maya  |  January 9, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    I really hate this cover, too. I LOVE the Enna Burning cover — I’m so in love with it I could stare at it forever (actually, no, that’s an exaggeration 😉 ) and I hate Razo. Dasha looks okay…not great.

  • 14. Danielle  |  January 9, 2009 at 11:02 pm

    I think the general consensus is that most of the die hard shan fans don’t like it, and then the not so die hard are cool with it 😉

    Razo looks… something I don’t want to say 😉

    Dasha is pretty good though 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,161 hits

