NaNoWriMo!

October 27, 2008 at 2:55 pm 35 comments

Hey Guys~

Yes, I know I have a promised serious post coming, but I thought I would take a short break from all of that and ask you about NaNoWriMo! So, what made you decide that you wanted to do it? Are you excited or dreading it? Do you participate in the activities such as “Word Wars” etc.? What are you planning on doing to mark the start of NaNoWriMo? I’m totally excited and can’t wait to hear all your comments!

Oh, and if it’s not too much to ask, if you wanted to share what your story is about that would be awesome!

* Dashes out the door to school *

Entry filed under: Culture, Dreams, Novel, November, Writing.

Hawk Nelson- The One Thing I have Left Breathe by Taylor Swift

35 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leigha  |  October 27, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I am so excited for nanowrimo. I have never looked forward to writing 50000 cruddy words in my life. πŸ˜‰ It’s going to be fun to write and not have to worry about what I’m writing. That’s what originally attracted me to doing it this year. That and I want to take a (much needed) break from my current story.

    What’s it about? To tell you the truth, I’m not sure yet. I have two ideas and I’ve outlined them both. It’s a matter of deciding which one. But both ideas are very different from anything I’ve ever written. (I’m also very excited for when I get to write the scene where two of my characters make an appearance. That’ll be interesting.)

    So…
    May I prod you for information about your nanowrimo? πŸ˜‰

  • 2. Q  |  October 27, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I am too far into the c(b)p to use it for NaNo and I don’t want to start a new story at this point. *sheepish*

  • 3. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 1:49 am

    Jess- πŸ˜€ I know! But, I’m enjoying the idea of doing it so far. Last night I wrote my monthly home discussion in 15 minutes (it ended up being over a thousand words so that was really nice!) and yes, it was rushes and not my best work but for getting the terrifying rough draft done it was amazing!

    Aw, come on- you have to have a general idea! I don’t even have an outline (yet) and I have a general idea. Well… I was hoping to outline tonight but we’ll see how well that goes! So. Much. Homework! I will tell you as soon as I have developments (hoping that will be by tomorrow!!!)

    Q- what is c(b)p? Haha πŸ˜€

  • 4. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:15 am

    current (blasted) project

  • 5. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:19 am

    Oh my, that’s hilarious xD

  • 6. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:24 am

    Thank you. I try.

  • 7. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:27 am

    Haha, are we ever going to learn anything about it?

  • 8. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:33 am

    I posted a wordle of it! If I knew you I probably would have emailed you a short excerpt by now, but as I don’t… Well, I know you’re awesome and I trust you, but… I’m paranoid.

  • 9. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:37 am

    Where’s the worldle? Do you not have a LRRH account or a Goodreads? Cause you could PM me via that. And seriously, I promise I’m not a stalker (which is as I told you exactly what a stalker would say… πŸ˜› ) lol.

  • 10. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:40 am

    Wordle is here:
    http://thecurlyq.blogspot.com/2008/09/sneak-peak.html

    I’m not on LRRH or GoodReads. Sorry. 😦

    I’m not a stalker either. *shifty eyes*

  • 11. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Seriously? I’m shocked that you don’t have either of those! After hanging out with the likes of us? Hehe.

    Are you sure, Q? Well maybe someday I’ll get to read some of your writing πŸ˜› You could make a wordpress and just post snippets * hint hint * πŸ˜€

  • 12. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:44 am

    I know, but frankly, I spend enough of my time blogging; I certainly don’t need LRRH to take up another six hours every day ;). I got in with you all by following links from, ultimately, Shannon Hale’s blog. Ennalee was the first, I think.

    Yeah, but I’d protect them and how would you get the password?

  • 13. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:46 am

    I’m on both and seriously, don’t spend that much time on either.

    Agh, you’re confuzzilizing me!!! It takes like five seconds to get a goodreads account though. And then you could PM me. πŸ˜€ Or… Well, you could just e-mail. If you have gmail you know you can change your name so that it doesn’t appear. I do that sometimes when I’m doing pranks on my friends (ok explanation is needed for this…)

    Well, I love birthdays, right? So I do a “Birthday Bandit” scheme and i’ll change my name to “The Birthday Bandit” etc. It’s fun πŸ˜€

  • 14. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:49 am

    Yes, but I know I would, and wouldn’t you rather have me wriitng so that you could read more than snippets? πŸ˜‰

    Well, my email address is in first initial/last name format. Not very condusive to the whole “change your name” thing. When is YOUR birthday?

  • 15. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:51 am

    make a new anonymous gmail account? That also takes like five seconds. (I’m not giving up… you can keep trying to confuzzilize me but it won’t work!!!)

    πŸ˜€ Thank you for asking πŸ˜‰ My birthday is in 36 days and is on December 2nd. At this time I shall be getting my LICENSE. So happy!

  • 16. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:52 am

    Yes, it will. I can win any battle I want. I’m just that stubborn.

    Hey, my birthday is in 17 days, counting today. And driving = good.

  • 17. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Ah, come on. I’ll even make it for you and give you the password πŸ˜‰

    Yeah for birthdays! There’s a lot of us coming up… Anilee is in the 20’s somewhere, so that makes you in the teens? What day?

    I take it you have your license πŸ˜‰ ?

  • 18. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 3:58 am

    I have a spam address, I just don’t really like giving it out.

    The thirteenth, baby! My birthday is on a Friday next year! *beams*

    *sigh* Driving is good.

  • 19. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:00 am

    But for the sake of letting me read your writing??? Pretty please with a whip cream, sprinkles, chocolate FUDGE, a cherry on top, and some exercise videos to help you get through all that?

    Awesome! I ❀ Friday the thirteenth!!!

    Driving is good. I love it. I even like rush hour traffic, ok? πŸ˜›

  • 20. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:01 am

    Lol. Nice try.

    I do, too. It’s the bestest.

    Ugh. I do not like rush hour. I hate changing lanes.

  • 21. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:05 am

    Ah, shucks. What about just a simple I promise to give you an honest feedback. Not sugar coated but not mean? I really, really want to read something of your writing. What’s a spam e-mail anyways? Millions of people have them.

    I think that December 2nd is the bestester though…. πŸ˜€

    Well, I haven’t really driven rush hour that much. A few times though. I just love freeway driving. You can just go for miles. (unless you’re like me and live in the city but at other times….)

  • 22. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:07 am

    Okay, so your birthday almost wins. But I ask you, how can you beat Friday the Thirteenth?

    Ugh. The freeway makes me jittery. I’m a whiteknuckle nightmare with multilane, over 55 mph roads.

  • 23. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Seriously? I love high speeds! (oh snap, did I just confess my secret love of going over the speed limit…..?)

    Ok, I don’t sped that often…. πŸ˜‰

    Almost wins is pretty good. I think that your birthday might win if you sent me some of your writing πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  • 24. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Oh, you’re relentless! Okay, to appease the monster I shall give her one line and no explanation for it:

    “With a feeling like a yank around my throat, I came to myself.”

    I just wrote that, you know. I’m almost at 20,000 words now.

    High speeds freak me out. I’m terrified of crashing.

  • 25. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 4:15 am

    You know you want to share.

    And seriously, didn’t it feel good? But see now, you’ve given me a sampling. Which means you’re caving. Which means that you will want to share more. (huh, huh! See how my circular reasoning works?)

    Nice, though. I like πŸ˜€

    Ah, I’m not really terrified. Just keep control of the car. It’s not too bad… I guess freeways are essential to travel so I might as well enjoy them!

  • 26. Leigha  |  October 28, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    Poor Q. Danielle, you ought to be ashamed of yourself. Making her cave like that. You’re no better than Fantasy who bribed me into letting people read my writing. Shame, Danielle, shame. πŸ˜‰

    I rather like driving fast myself. (Nobody goes the speed limit on Florida highways…)

  • 27. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 2:41 pm

    I feel no shame. πŸ˜‰

    * high fives Jess *

    Ah, yeah. I’ve never driven in Florida but here there are certain areas and freeways where it is the norm to be speeding. Seriously. πŸ˜€

  • 28. Maribeth  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    My 16th birthday is on Friday the thirteenth.

  • 29. Danielle  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Congrats πŸ˜‰ What day?

  • 30. Q  |  October 28, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Thanks for sticking up for me, Leigha. πŸ™‚

  • 31. Danielle  |  October 29, 2008 at 3:57 am

    Ah, come on guys πŸ˜€

    Well Q, I am still dying to read some of your writing but since you’re so persnickety I doubt I ever shall πŸ˜‰

  • 32. Q  |  October 29, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Persnickety and proud.

  • 33. Maribeth  |  October 29, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    Friday, March 13 2008 is when I turn 16!

    Q you aren’t very persuadable. at all.

  • 34. Q  |  October 29, 2008 at 10:15 pm

    Nope. I’m mucker stubborn.

  • 35. Danielle  |  October 31, 2008 at 6:38 am

    lol. You’re funny too. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,162 hits

