Mr. Mickey-Mouse, sir?

November 4, 2008 at 3:14 am 7 comments

Walt Disney had many faults. Duh. Apparently he approved of what Hitler did. Apparently he wasn’t always a very nice man. So what, though? He’s only human. And as one of his companies biggest stars would letter blare out all across America, “Nobody’s Perfect!”

He also did a whole lot of good. He created Mickey Mouse, and more importantly, Minnie Mouse. And behind that big company label are moments that inspire the soul. I have been affected by Disney, and I’m willing to bet my blog that you have as well. Every little girl has at one point wanted to be a Princess; and Disney made that a possibility, if only through the magic of their movies.

The modern day company aside, Disney created some truly wonderful things. Belle was what inspired me to be a bookworm. Arielle made me want to ask Jesus when I got to Heaven if I could turn into a mermaid, and Cinderella made me believe that since I dreamed this wish came true then it would really happen.

Ok, fine, maybe not everything about Disney is good; but please, there are many good things about Disney!

And as I approach my sixteenth birthday, being the huge sap that I am, I’m reflecting on age and growing old. Naturally, I thought of Disney, which has been such an amazing part of my childhood.

“Too many people grow up. That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up. They forget. They don’t remember what it’s like to be 12 years old. They patronize, they treat children as inferiors. Well I won’t do that.” –Walt Disney.

He got it right. Too many adults look down on kids because of their age. That’s so not cool. Children are amazing. We have so much to offer and insights on life that are often to simple because they don’t worry about the silly things that seem to overwhelm our lives as we grow older and older.

Has anyone else noticed the difference between fifteen and sixteen?

“Fifteen, oh so how’s high school going? Having fun?”

“Sixteen, wow, so what are your plans for the future? You have decided, right?”

“All children, except one, grow up.”

I’m going to make that number two. 😀

Entry filed under: Culture, Thoughts.

Beauty A Political Rant

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Q  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:08 am

    Growing old is inevitable. Growing up is optional.

  • 2. Danielle  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Nice, Q 😀

  • 3. Erin  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:23 am

    I love that first quote you posted!

  • 4. Danielle  |  November 4, 2008 at 4:23 am

    The Walt Disney one? It’s epic. 😉

  • 5. Erin  |  November 4, 2008 at 5:17 am

    Yeah. I don’t think I’d read it before…it went right into my commonplace book!

  • 6. Maribeth  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:22 am

    I used to ask Santa to be a mermaid. 😛

    I just saw HSM3. *grins*

  • 7. Danielle  |  November 5, 2008 at 2:25 am

    That is so hilarious, Maribeth! Oh my goodness!

    And I’m so jealous of your HSM watching 😛

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,152 hits

