Happy Thanksgiving

November 27, 2008 at 3:45 pm 11 comments

And for all of you that actually like to eat meat, eat a whole lot of Turkey for me because each year I get more and more reluctant to do so. 😀 Thank you Biology.

What am I thankful for…. lots of things:

1.) My faith. At the end of the day, the discussions I’ve had and the things I’ve learned contribute to it, but really it all comes down to what I believe personally. And that is what I’m most thankful for.

2.) My best friend, Olivia. Olivia is in my opinion probably the best friend you could ever find (for a girl). Not only is she beautiful on the outside, she’s completely gorgeous on the inside. She is very caring about all of the people in her life, and has a very nurturing spirit in that way. She automatically goes to those with the weaker personalities (as well as strong) and becomes their friend. She spends hours talking to me and helping me through all my petty problems, and she never complains. This past week she spent 8 hours total helping me with Spanish, actually teaching me everything they learned during first quarter. 8 hours! That’s two separate days, and meant for her that she would have to stay up incredibly late both nights doing homework- but she never complained. Each year I learn more and more about Olivia, and I am so very grateful that she is my best friend.

3.) Beautiful piano music that makes my spirit long to “sooooooaaaarrrrrrr.”

4.) Camp Amazing, and Worldview Academy

5.) My family. Can’t stand them, can’t live without them, right? Yeah, they drive me crazy, but I love them 😀

6.) Laurisa. Laurisa is probably one of the sweetest girls I know. With an incredibly sarcastic side as well. She totally loves to the Lord and has gone through trials that I can hardly imagine. Specifically, her dad died around two years ago. When this happened she and I weren’t incredibly close at all. Actually, we were probably a lot more like casual acquaintainces. The thing is, I was there when they found out the news about her dad, and you cannot see someone go through something like that first hand, and not form a different sort of relationship afterwards. And believe me, I am so glad I’ve gotten to know Laurisa. I watched her go through that time with extreme grace and acceptance. In public, she was never bitter and stepped up to what needed to be done in her family. Something I am sure was very, very hard. The entire time, she and her family never ceased to amze me with their trust in the Lord. It was stunning to see how God could turn something we thought could only be ugly and make it a living testimony for others. Laurisa is one of my best friends, and I now I can’t imagine life without her.

7.) Chara (pronounced Car-Ah). I love Chara. She’s like the busiest person in the entire world, I had to invite her to my birthday party back in June, and she’s also just plain awesome. She’s really outgoing, has a strong personality, and works very hard at school. What I love most about Chara though is that she has actual flaws, and she’s not afraid to show them. This fearless attitude is what I love most about Chara. Even if she’s not fearless, she can act like she is. Which is really cool. Chara also has a real desire to please the Lord, and I’ve had some of my most amazing spiritual conversations with her that have seriously enriched my life and the way that I reach out to others. I think talking to Chara on late night AIM conversations had made me realize how much I love talking to others about my faith. It’s a cool thing.

8.) My high school. Sometimes it can drive me crazy but it is giving me a valuable education.

9.) Really nice Spanish teachers that let students transfer in a quarter late!

10.) This list could go on and on forever, so I’m just going to say I’m grateful that I can feel thankful.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Entry filed under: Special Events.

Smiling Wickedly is Good for the Soul Sweet 16

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leigha  |  November 27, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving!
    However, I will not being eating any turkey. One, I never really liked it that much. And two, I will not exceed my meat intake for the week. Yes, I have a meat intake limit per week. I want to be a complete vegetarian one day. It’s just that…that…sesame chicken is darn good…

    Anyhoo…

    Happy Thanksgiving. Oh, wait. I already said that… 😉

  • 2. Danielle  |  November 27, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    * laughs at Jess *

    Well happy thanksgiving to you too. I’ll admit, it’s not my favorite holiday, but it does START THE HOLIDAY SEASON which is seriously one of my favorite times of the year. And it means that my birthday is in five days, my birthday party on Saturday, and Christmas is coming up really soon. Christmas being my favorite holiday. I love this time of year…. Now if only we didn’t have to go to school… 😉

  • 3. Q  |  November 27, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    I will be eating turkey. And mashed potatoes. Yummmmmm.

    Stores have been trying to start the holiday season since October, and now I will finally accept their attempts and maybe do some Christmas shopping.

  • 4. Danielle  |  November 27, 2008 at 4:35 pm

    I really don’t like mashed potatoes. It’s a weird thing… I love pumpkin pie though. My dad and I have been making those together since I was really little. It’s tradition 😀

    lol. I’m so glad I’m not a JW. Cause seriously, I don’t think I would be able to stop celebrating holidays. And birthdays! For crying out loud….

  • 5. Maribeth  |  November 27, 2008 at 7:26 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving, Danielle!

    #1is great! 😀
    I like your whole list, too.
    I actually don’t really like turkey that much…I mean I do eat it, but I really like smoked turkey and my dad doesn’t like that so we never have it. 😦
    Mashed potatoes, stuffing, and green bean casserole are my favorites.

  • 6. Danielle  |  November 27, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Thanks, Maribeth ❤

    We seem to be a bunch of not loving turkey people!!! That’s kind of sad 😛

  • 7. Merissa  |  November 27, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! Nice list 🙂

    I like turkey! Although I can’t say I like it a lot. I just think it’s okay.

  • 8. Maribeth  |  November 27, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    I think it’s because turkey isn’t that great. It’s kind of plain…

  • 9. Danielle  |  November 27, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Guess so. I’ve yet to have any Thanksgiving Turkey. It’s still fairly early so…. 😀

  • 10. Q  |  November 28, 2008 at 1:28 am

    *coughs* I like Turkey.

  • 11. Danielle  |  November 28, 2008 at 6:02 am

    lol. Nice, Q. Well the turkey this year I almost didn’t eat, partially because of this conversation and partially because my Mom and my uncle decided to start having a conversation about why I hadn’t been eating much meat lately. I mean, really. How rude is that? Sigh. 😉

    But I did get to play the Wii for the first time. What game you ask? The HSM sing along!!!! Oh my gooseness it was so much fun. I love rocking out as Sharpay 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,162 hits

