Hark! Heareth my thought?

December 5, 2008 at 4:12 pm 6 comments

It occurs to me that there are those that might wish to hear about how NaNoWriMo ended up going for me.

Well, let’s just say this, I failed in their opinion of what NaNoWriMo is, but personally I feel as though I had won NaNoWriMo. My final wordcount was 41, 346 (I believe…) and I find that to be a great accomplishment. I am very pleased with myself and simply in love with my story. Maybe one of these days I’ll even write a summary for you, if you’re interested in knowing what it’s actually about. But for now, I will say that I’m taking a short break from writing (I don’t want to get burnt out) and I’ll start writing again soon. Right now, the story is seeping itself into my mind and it’s making me long to rush out and write it, similar to how I felt before NaNoWriMo actually! But I won’t let it. It needs to rest, and I need to rest, and that is that.

So NaNoWriMo was a success. I didn’t reach 50k, but I did reach 41k and I’m really proud of this, seeing how it was my first attempt at NaNoWriMo and also my first attempt at writing a novel. And ultimately, I realized that this is a not a novel that I quickly finish and than move on from. It’s something that will continue to grow until it finally reaches that point where I can put down the pen (or, stop typing) and be satisfied. And I actually do think that day will come.

NaNoWriMo also helped me to conquer my fear of wordcounts. Truly, it did. I can look at a five+ page assignment and not even blink. Compared to the craziness of NaNoWriMo that is nothing. I also like to think about how I wrote 41k admist everything else that I do. And I do a lot. All honors classes, classic piano, leading worship at church, youth group, babysitting, culture club leadership, national honor society leadership, craft club, reading for pleasure, etc. So much goes on in my life, and admist all that I started writing a novel, and I think that is awesome!

So until we meet again, crazy word counts that must be met. I learned quite a bit from you.

Entry filed under: Rants, Thoughts.

Sweet 16 A little piece of insanity…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leigha  |  December 5, 2008 at 4:40 pm

    Ah, I loved this post.

    Don’t let yourself get burnt out writing wise. Not fun.

    Major ditto on the third paragraph. I know exactly how you feel. 😀

  • 2. Q  |  December 5, 2008 at 9:45 pm

    Reason number 29763 Why You Are Awesome.

  • 3. Erin  |  December 5, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I want a summary!

  • 4. Maribeth  |  December 5, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    If I had all that stuff to do, I don’t think I’d ever meet it. 😛

    Have fun on your break, but don’t stop for too long!

    Do you have any more excerpts for me?

  • 5. Leigha  |  December 6, 2008 at 6:42 am

    Danielle! Gmail is being evil and just signed me out of our chat! I’m trying to get back on…

  • 6. Summermoon  |  December 7, 2008 at 11:53 am

    That is truly an impressive feat. I chickened out if NaNoWriMo because I had a similar list of things that I had to do. But you went on and conquered! Congratulations!

    And a summary would be very nice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,155 hits

