An update of sorts, and further proof of my intelligence…

December 23, 2008 at 1:06 am 5 comments

Well as you might of noticed, I have a new header. And I’m still deciding how I feel about it. The main reason for a new header is the fact that I don’t like having the same layout or design as another person… It makes it seem way less personal. So I’ve decided to try and vamp up this design, and if that doesn’t work then I shall mess around with a few other layouts, and see where that gets me. Should be reasonably fun šŸ˜€

And props to Anilee for helping me to figure out the formatting and such.

Anyhoo, I also have two bits of news regarding anniversaries. The first, is that I have officially been a Goodreads member for over a year. If you haven’t yet joined, Goodreads is the ultimate must have for book lovers and reviewers. I would be completely lost in the book world without it. It allows you to see what your friends are reading, what they think of it, comments, review, take book quizzes, join book clubs, and all around enjoy a great book atmosphere. In addition it allows you to create shelves that you design, and also manages a master list of books that you have read, books you are currently reading (and page number!) and books you have marked as to read. It is most excellent and I’ve enjoyed my experience there thoroughly, and look foward to using it in the future.

The second bit of news has to do with blogging, actually! Shows you how intelligent I am, but last month was actually my one year anniversary as a blogger. Yes, yes I’m smart. I have switched blogs only once during that time and that was from blogger to wordpress. I am much happier at wordpressand I’m quite glad I made that deicision back in July. My only complaint is that you are much more limited with design and layout options, which I suppose just means you have to get a bit creative. šŸ˜‰

Anyways, that would be my bit of intelligent news for you all. I would also like to point out that I am still buried under snow (quite literally). This might be the first time in history that I have not wanted a white Christmas! I know, I’m horrible, but there it is.Ā  Too much snow has ruined it for me šŸ˜¦

On the bright side, I walked to the local Barnes and Noble today with my brother and we were able to finish our Christmas shopping! This is really excellent because I haven’t been able to leave the house for long periods of time since last Tuesday! Ridiculous, in my opinion, but there you have it. The weather can stink sometimes.

Also, I’m hoping to get a few more book reviews up, and could also really use some advice. The age old question…. What to read next? I’m going to post a poll, but would also adore book suggestions please! I hate science fiction, and I’m hesitant of epic fantasies, and of course I am a huge fan of Shannon Hale, Jane Austen, and C.S. Lewis. So please? Suggestions? šŸ˜€

Entry filed under: Blog Stuff.

Escapades in the Snow, Goose Girl Style :) My Favorite Josh Groban Performance

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Leigha  |  December 23, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Oh, suggestions…
    Well, for historical fiction… “Ten Cents a Dance” was fabulous book. “Incantation” was pretty good, though a bit far stretched. “Remembrance” is a lovely, lovely book. It makes me cry at least twice when I read it.
    Fantasy… Um, “Sabriel” is the first in a series. The next two are “Lirael” and “Abhorsen.” But “Sabriel” was my favorite. šŸ™‚
    Contemporary… You could always read more Sarah Dessen books. “Just Listen” Hint hint. šŸ˜‰
    Oh, “Stargirl” and “Love, Stargirl” were really good.

  • 2. Maribeth  |  December 23, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I’m terrible at reccommendations. Sorry! But I agree with the Sarah Dessen thing. And I haven’t read any of the others myself. šŸ˜›

    So, snow. Maybe we could like have a virtual snow passer? ‘Cause I really want snow! So badly. I don’t really want ice and wind and bitter cold, but yes dear, I do want snow. šŸ™‚

    P.S. Don’t worry about your intelligence. You and I have already proved our brilliance with the fedoras. šŸ˜‰

    Great. Doesn’t look like smileyitis is leaving me anytime soon… šŸ˜¦

  • 3. Q  |  December 23, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    I loved the Gallagher Girls books. They are my recent favorites.

  • 4. Katie  |  December 23, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    I just signed up with Goodreads per your recommendation, and so now we should be friends šŸ™‚ anyways, I have no recommendations for you, because we don’t appear to like the same kinds of books at all šŸ™‚ hehehe. except for C.S. Lewis. he’s priceless.

  • 5. Danielle  |  December 23, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    I want to read the Gallagher Girl books too. I just need to get my hands on them…

    And thanks for the recommendations, Jess. I’ll have to try and find those šŸ˜€

    Haha, Maribeth you made me laugh with your comment. You’re so funny šŸ˜€

    Katie- Yeah! I friended you šŸ˜€ And totally agreed on C.S. Lewis. One of the best in my opinion šŸ˜€

    Ah! Smilyitis!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


December 2008
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,162 hits

