So anyways…

January 8, 2009 at 9:59 pm 6 comments

Yeah. I don’t know what’s up with that poem below, so I’m just going to publish and forget about it ๐Ÿ˜›

I do have a little bit of interesting news…

Today I went to my state university on a field trip and it was lovely. I don’t know if I want to go there or not, but I definitely enjoyed seeing it from a more academic perspective. I have of course been there before for things such as piano competitions, but it was fun to be able to see the more studious side and enjoy the student culture of the fieldtrip. I also talked with my friend Faiza for a colossal (just felt like using that word…) amount of time which was pretty fun. We talked about college a lot. Faiza is kind of obsessed with college. She’s also a wee bit insane, and knows it. But we all love her anyways ๐Ÿ˜‰

Wow, I am so rambly. I told you I was prone to going off on tangents…

Tangents is a bad word. It reminds me of math.

Oh and if you happen to know what University I was at today then gmail chat me about it or something please because I really dislike having to go in and edit people’s comments. It’s just tiresome.

What was I going to talk about with this post anyways?

I think the better question is why I’m still writing it…

I don’t think it was supposed to be a life update, which is what it’s turning out to be. If it were a life update I would tell you about how stressed yearbook makes me and how I havea geometry test tomorrow that I’m not looking forward to. I might also tell you that I had a biology test which was a piece of cake.ย  Or I could mention how I’m really excited for what culture club is doing lately. I think our hiatus was well worth it and I’m looking forward to planning on next few events, etc. I could also say how I have awesome new piano music that I’m working on for the next competition…

Uhhhh… I think that was kind of a life update.

Right.

Well originally this was supposed to be an update on writing. I wrote a chapter I’m actually really proud of. (Confession time, I actually haven’t read more of what I wrote of my novel during NaNoWriMo. Yeah…. I wrote it, but didn’t read it… ) and for the first time now I’m actually reading what I wrote. This is weird for me. Some of it makes me go, oh my gosh did I actually write this?! And some of it makes me cringe. Really cringe. As Maribeth and Jess can personally testify.

Actually, because I’m cool like that, here’s a little excerpt:

It was a boy. A small, beautiful child. His dark hair fell in lustrous curls around his plump perfect cheeks. His skin was pale, almost as though he had been carved of white stone. Linden watched as he moved to play with other little children that were slowly coming into focus. They were all dressed in a comfortable looking style, the fabric woven for both duty and durability, and varying in colors from deep greens to browns. Some of the children wore shades ofย  red. They were beside a river playing a game that involved tossing stones and placing sticks into patterns that Linden couldnโ€™t quite see.

I have no idea why I gave you that excerpt, but there you go ๐Ÿ˜›

All right… This was so rambly. I’m done now.

Hasta luego, dude ๐Ÿ˜€

(see ya later dude)

Entry filed under: Culture, Dreams, High School.

Nothing Learning to Breathe– Switchfoot

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Maribeth  |  January 8, 2009 at 10:22 pm

    I love that little snippet of writing. It’s beautiful.

    Nice with the “not realizing I’m doing this, but I am” life update. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  • 2. Maya  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:14 am

    Thanks for visiting my blog. I thought I was reading some really good author’s novel when I read your excerpt — awesome!!

  • 3. Danielle  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:46 am

    Ah, thanks guys on the writing ๐Ÿ˜€

    It was a really random snippet…. I just scrolled down to a random spot in my novel and was like, that looks interesting ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And no problem Maya, but gosh, you’re making me blush with the complements tonight!

  • 4. Maya  |  January 9, 2009 at 12:55 am

    You’re welcome — well hey, it was that good!

  • 5. Danielle  |  January 9, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Ok, yeah I like you. I actually just sent you an e-mail by the way. I’m kind of excited right now ๐Ÿ˜€

  • 6. Maya  |  January 9, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Aaah so am I ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


January 2009
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,155 hits

