Beauty is Not How Skinny You Can Be

February 3, 2009 at 10:30 pm 6 comments

I just finished reading a book called North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley.

First, let me say it’s a gorgeous book. It’s similar to Sarah Dessen in that it has the power to make you feel the same sort of emotional attachment and investment in the story/characters. That is very desirable in a book so I highly encourage fans of that style of literature to check this one out as soon as possible.

So many books, magazines, and tv shows that have tried to tell us that all we need is to believe in ourselves and that we have true beauty that comes from within, only to throw in our faces pictures of stick thin girls, flawless skin and that kind of haunting beauty that few could ever naturally achieve.

North of Beautiful is the kind of story that could easily fall into that trap. It has the idea of true beauty and the thought that it truly is what’s on the inside that matters most. But North of Beautiful goes a step further than that.

True, it’s a fictional novel, but there’s something about it that makes me believe that the author means it when she says that.I’ve actually met the author. I’ve heard her speak, and I honestly believe that the things she wrote in her book are actual things she lives out in her life.

It’s hard to accurately describe what I mean by this, but if you read the book I think you’ll understand what I’m saying.

I’d also like to share this video that I found a few months ago.

I can’t host it here because it’s been disabled, but I strongly urge everyone to check it out. I know it’s a tired used truth, but consider this when you’re having a bad day. And when you’re feeling dejected and stupid and out of it and hurt and just totally awkward and uneasy with life.

You are unique. And as Sophia says, never in the history of the world will there be another person just like you. So why are you trying to look like someone else?

Smile.

Entry filed under: Culture, High School, Rants, Thoughts.

Ohhh, Fail…. You can thank me later…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. vicariousreader  |  February 3, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    I haven’t read that one yet, but it looks really good in all of the reviews that I’ve read. Thanks!

  • 2. Maya  |  February 3, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Ahhh, I want to read North of Beautiful SO BAD! But I am excited ’cause I won a free autographed copy via Justina’s awesome blog tour…I just have to wait till it arrives. 😉 I will be getting loads of bookish goodies in the mail. (This also includes the 500-odd copies of my book. Squeee!)

  • 3. summermoon98  |  February 4, 2009 at 2:46 am

    That video is lovely. 🙂 And I really, really want to read North of Beautiful as soon as I can!

  • 4. erin mcintosh  |  February 4, 2009 at 11:23 am

    *smiles happily*

  • 5. Maribeth  |  February 4, 2009 at 5:58 pm

    I ordered that book! 🙂

    And that is a great message.

    Hm…the video didn’t work for me. So…

  • 6. Priya  |  February 5, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    Wonderful review. I’m waiting to read this too, after Maya (most probably) will hog it. 🙂

    And thanks for your comment on my blog, by the way.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2009
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,161 hits

