Of Hermits and Daffodils: An Interview with Jugglin’ Jess

March 29, 2009 at 10:44 am 19 comments

Hello everybody πŸ˜€

I thought since I shall be leaving for quite a few days on spring break, I would leave you all with an awesome blog post on one of my favorite people on the internet. I’m sure you all might have noticed a growing trend among bloggers, and that is to interview other bloggers. Sometimes I’m ok with following the crowd, and so I would now like to introduce the first in a series of blogging interviews that I’m really excited to do! I have no idea how many I will be doing, it will probably be ongoing as I’l have to wait for people to get back to me and such, but without further ado I would like to present my very good friend, (Jugglin’) Jess πŸ˜€

—–

1.) Let’s start off simple: if you were a crayon, what color would you be? Blue. A nice sky blue.

2.) What book has seriously changed your life? The Goose Girl. I read that at a very critical point in my life. Let me tell you–reading about a heroine that was so much like me meant so much to me. To this day The Goose Girl remains my favorite book of all time, and I still adore Ani and all her imperfections. πŸ™‚

3.) Congratulations! You’ve aged twenty years! What fact about your teens will you be most embarrassed to tell your children? Twenty years? Gah, I’m 37! Hmm… I can’t think of anything embarrassing about me. πŸ˜‰ Just kidding. Um… There’s lots of things. Notably how long it took me to figure out what “btw” and “imo” meant. πŸ˜‰

4.) And on a different note, what will you be more proud about? Any decisions that I have made and stuck to.

5.) Coming from being homeschooled, do you think you will homeschool your children? I very much doubt it.

6.) Can you enlighten us as to where your fascination with daffodils came from? Um, I honestly have no idea. I mean, I’ve never seen one in real life. (Sad, I know.) But who wouldn’t be fascinated with them? They’re so bright and happy. And then dear Kartik the Daffodil only strengthened my affection for those dear happy plants. πŸ™‚

7.) What’s the best form of expression for you? Writing. I notice that when I need to express myself, my characters express it. If I’m feeling romantic, my characters end up kissing. (Acutally, they do that all the time anyway.) When I’m doubtful, my characters doubt. Etc.

8.) Describe your dream guy. Ooooh. πŸ™‚ Funny, sweet, considerate, kind, spiritual, happy, wise, witty, understanding, a good conversationalist. And, well, tall, dark, and handsome sure as anything wouldn’t hurt. πŸ˜‰

9.) Congratulations! This guy just asked you out on a date! How long do you spend getting ready? Heh. Well… Judging from the time I’ve spent getting ready for a dates… I’d say 45 minutes to an hour. Ironically, when I go other places I spend about five to ten minutes getting ready. Boys…they can have such an effect on a girl’s time schedule. πŸ˜‰

10.) Where are you going? The park.

11.) What will you do? We’ll play on the playground for the sake of reliving a small part of our childhoods. We’ll have a picnic, and maybe read out loud to each other. Oh, we should totally climb a tree. Lots of laughing and talking should be going on amid all this other stuff. πŸ˜‰

12.) How does it end? With a deep and perfect sense of happiness. And no kissing. Uh uh. I’m saving that. πŸ˜‰ But hearing a “I really like you” at my door would be pretty much awesome.

13.) You’re most afraid of…? Being alone.

14.) You’ve often talked of becoming a hermit, or a non-catholic nun. How does this relate to your life? Well, I’ve had some less than cheery experiences with boys. I’ve learned the hard way that dating can royally stink, especially when you’re not completely trusting the person you’re dating. But I’ve also learned that even just liking a boy can give you the same emotional involvement of an relationship. So… I’m tired of all things boy related. Hence impending hermithood. πŸ˜‰

15.) So how’s that writing going? Um, ew. Just ew. I have that lovely thing going on where I know exactly what to write, but I have no idea how to write it. And when I do try to write, it all comes out all icky.

16.) How do you define beauty? I suppose we all think of beauty as something that’s pleasing to the eye, but that’s superficial beauty. I like to think of real beauty as the goodness and kindness of a person’s heart and the sincerity of their words and emotions. That’s pleasing to the soul. πŸ™‚

17.) What makes a quote meaningful to you? When it’s a simply stated yet heartfelt truth that we all can relate to. Like the last line of The Queen of Attolia. I think anyone who adores that book can just feel the emotion charging that line. It’s four words, but packs so much meaning and gives the book a perfect ending. Or “In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: it goes on.” Not the most eloquently stated saying in the world, but who needs eloquence when you’ve got cold hard facts? πŸ˜‰

19.) Favorite silly thing you do? Playing frisbee at midnight, jumping jacks at midnight, sit ups at midnight. Pretty much everything at midnight. πŸ™‚

20.) What question have you always wanted to be asked? Go ahead and do that now πŸ˜€ Question: Do you want to be a ninja? Answer: Yes! I want to be a totally wicked awesome ninja who would blow the minds of people everywhere!

———

Thank you so much Jess! You’re totally groovy πŸ˜€

And now reader, my challenge to you. Ooo, I liked how I said reader there. Very Jane Eyre/Charlotte Bronte style πŸ˜‰ Anyways, what’s wrong with this interview? Leave your comments regarding the interview and this question below and when I get back I shall tell you if you were right πŸ˜€

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

I don’t usually endorse zombies but… Another Announcement

19 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Linkage « Meandering Along  |  March 29, 2009 at 11:13 am

    […] Linkage March 29, 2009 Posted by Leigha in randomness. trackback Danielle felt inspired to interview me. […]

  • 2. Maribeth  |  March 29, 2009 at 11:19 am

    “I’ve learned the hard way that dating can royally stink, especially when you’re not completely trusting the person you’re dating.”

    Shouldn’t royally be totally unless um she’s dating a prince or something. Who knows? πŸ˜›

    Awesome interview!

    And Jess, I want to be a ninja too! That would be so darn sweet!

  • 3. Priya  |  March 29, 2009 at 11:58 am

    Great interview!

    and just a side note, what does imo mean?

  • 4. Q  |  March 29, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Nearly all the paragraphs have smilies on them.

    I am a ninja!

  • 5. Georgie  |  March 29, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Q what’s wrong with smilies? I adore smilies!

    And yes, what does imo mean?

  • 6. Danielle  |  March 29, 2009 at 1:58 pm

    Ninjas are awesome. I totally agree with that πŸ˜€

    IMO means “In my opinion.” Often times people will say “IMHO” as well which stands for “In my humble opinion.”

  • 7. Maribeth  |  March 29, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    Where’s my award? lol.

  • 8. Danielle  |  March 29, 2009 at 2:03 pm

    ^ Award for what? No one’s actually figured out what’s wrong with this post yet πŸ˜‰

    Although you did have a nice attempt πŸ˜€

  • 9. Maya  |  March 29, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    Lovely interview, mah dears. πŸ˜€ And Maribeth – it’s on the previous post.

  • 10. Maribeth  |  March 29, 2009 at 4:41 pm

    Oh, you said I got an award on my blog…

  • 11. Danielle  |  March 29, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    Oh yeah, your award is on the Zombie Chicken post! πŸ˜€

  • 12. Q  |  March 29, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Well, she said she was most afraid of being alone, yet she wants to be a hermit. Is that what is wrong?

    Oh, and you’re missing number 18. As soon as I found the profound thing, I realized that it had to be something silly like that that not many people would notice offhand.

  • 13. erin  |  March 29, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    What Q said–the alone/hermit thing made me go “hmm” too…. πŸ˜‰

    Also–never seen a daffodil? *GASP*

  • 14. Summermoon  |  March 29, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    There is no number 18 question!!!!!

    Great interview though. πŸ™‚

  • 15. Maya  |  March 29, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    Yeah, I realized and was going to say it, but Q and Summermoon beat me. Phooey.

  • 16. madison  |  March 31, 2009 at 7:10 am

    I would have said that the blue was slightly off. πŸ™„

    Also, the Daffodil obsession started when we were talking about the ending of The Sweet Far Thing and some of Tamora Pierce’s books. (SPOILERS!) We started laughing about how Kartik was a tree, and then Jess said that he should have been a daisy. I said about how Neal was awesome, Jess brought up the line “I myself have noticed my growing resemblance to a daffodil,” and I suggested that perhaps Kartik was a daffodil, and Jess agreed. So that’s that. πŸ˜€

    Also, Danielle, you are completely awesome and pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty pretty please?

    (Just tell me when I’m beyond annoying and I’ll stop, I promise, but honestly, I’m having a bit of fun adding begging to end of everything I say to you. ;))

  • 17. clairedelune  |  March 31, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    you’ve never seen a daffodil! i see them every day at work now, because we sell them. (i’m a cashier at a grocery store) i even know the code for them. you’re very much like me; it’s surprising. i’ve often contemplated becoming a hermit. and we’re the same age.

  • 18. Je reve des livres  |  April 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Hi, I’m new… yeah. Found this awesome blog via LRRH. Well, there’s no question 18, as is stated above. At the end of the post, when Miss Danielle referenced the lovely Miss Eyre/Bronte, it reminded me of the Enola Holmes books by Nancy Springer, where dear Enola occasionally talks to the reader… sorry! I was rambling!

  • 19. Danielle  |  April 2, 2009 at 7:14 pm

    Thanks for all the feedback on the interview! I know I can’t take full credit for that, since Jess is really the awesome one πŸ˜€

    And yes, it was the number 18 thing you smart people. New interview coming soon….

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


March 2009
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,161 hits

