Paint My World

April 7, 2009 at 11:32 pm 3 comments

For those of you that don’t know, which is probably most of you, I’m doing NaPoWriMo, or National Poetry Writing Month, where you write one poem of any style and length per day. I’m enjoying it immensly, and would like to share my latest poem with you.

It’s called Paint my World, it totally has that British, Regina Spektor or Kate Nash sort of flair to it. I’m kind of in love with it, actually. It all started with me starting to sing this random line about blues and orange and pinks and yellows and before I knew it I had a line about pretty fellows and I knew this was going to be a song/poem. I’m still bound to change some things (editing is lovely) but here it is 😀

—–

Black, and white.

Makes things simple
makes them right,
ordinary, dull.

Take, my life.
Simple, ordinary, dull
it’s just like living in a
black and white
world.

But.

There’s blue and orange
and pinks and yellows,
greens and reds and pretty fellows,
there before my eyes.
Right where I can see them.

And this is what we call,
that time and place where we
begin to see just what it is
that we love most
and who we’re meant to be.

And people try and tell us all the time.

What it is we have to be,
and what we’re supposed to do.

I don’t know about you….

But I’m getting sick of it–
with all their do do this
quite lickety split.
I don’t think I can make it
through another day
trying to live that way.

Paint my world.

Make it colorful,
shine the lights
and make them bright
like poppies in the sun.

Spin me around,
let’s go off for a while
take a journey
round the moon
we’ll drink some tea
with butterflies,
watch the world go spinning by
write our names across the sky
see how time can fly.
Live that kind of life,
where you’re not afraid to try.

—-

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed reading that as much as I did creating it 😀 Look for another interview coming up in the next few days, and as far as the stalker update goes, I still haven’t decided quite what to do about that. So we’ll see. Thanks for being ever patient readers.

Entry filed under: Poetry.

Lights, Camera, Interview! “Oh it’s Fabulous…”

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Georgie  |  April 7, 2009 at 11:45 pm

    I like that. Keep working on it to make it perfect!

    I’ll help with the stalker. Watch…

    To Stalker:

    GO AWAY!!! I want to be able to read this blog, and you’re making it impossible! If you’re making her uncomfortable, then do the right thing and leave.

    From Georgie

    I really do like your poem! Especially the section about “pretty fellows.” It’s very nice. 😀

  • 2. erin  |  April 8, 2009 at 10:12 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    I really want to write music to it, now.

  • 3. Maribeth  |  April 8, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    Woah. That’s a really really amazing poem/song. I can see it as a song, in fact that’s sort of how it sounds when I read it.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,155 hits

