Carpe Diem, er, Interview.

April 22, 2009 at 6:55 pm 7 comments

Next in the ongoing series of interviews, is Miss Maya at Allegro!

1.) Let’s start with how would you describe yourself… in a poem?
I would be the curious narrator who wants to explore the world around her. I’d refer to myself as “she,” and you would find a lot of imagery in the poem.

2.) You think that people should…?
Carpe diem. End of story.

3.) Something (may I make that “Someone”?) that always makes you smile?
My family: my mom, who can crack really good jokes, my dad, who always manages to make me smile, and my sister, who is so incredibly spectacular (99.9% of the time) that she doesn’t need any explanation.

4.) If you could paint your room any color what color would it be?
Purple, hands down. I’ve got eight sections of wall, and each would be a different shade of purple. That’d be really pretty.

5.) After having become a published author, do you really feel much different, or is it still mostly the same?
As of right now, it’s mostly the same. It’s just those times when someone stops me and says, “Hey, I know you — didn’t you write a book?” that feel very different, because I’m finally able to say, “Yeah, I did.” Or when I’m signing books, or addressing packages, etc, I’m so grateful to my parents for letting me publish, and this whole “poetess experience” feels so, so good. And so very different, but I love it.

6.) Can you choose a favorite book? Or are you forced to resort to books, in the plural sense?
Mainly I’ve told people it’s “Paper Towns,” by John Green. But I think “North of Beautiful” (Justina Chen Headley), which I’ve claimed is my second-favorite, is almost just as good. What I look for in a favorite book is that it has to teach me something about life or the way I live it. Both of these books have done that, and NOB is such a close second, but Paper Towns takes the cake.

7.) When did you first realize that Carrie Underwood was the epitome of awesome?
She’s always been the epitome of awesome, though I didn’t realize it until Saturday, March 14, 2008, and Sunday, March 15, 2008, two days that I spent doing my homework and listening to the 30-second previews on iTunes all afternoon long. She shows people that you can achieve anything if you just go for it, and I think that’s really important.

8.) What’s something you think not too many people know about you?
That I’m a very sensitive person.

9.) Do you think books should be made into movies?
Of course! It’s great to see something you’ve read being acted out. I know that when I read a book or write prose, the dialogue plays out in my head, like a movie. So, for me, getting to see those same scenes from someone else (the director)’s perspective is a really neat experience.

10.) Have you ever been truly, perfectly, and incandescently happy? Do share 😉
Definitely. Anytime I’m doing one or more of the following things:
-writing (without struggling!) 🙂
-listening to fantastic music
-it’s sunny + raining at the same time (I love both the rain and the sunshine, so this is a perfect compromise)
-spending time with my family

11.) How would you react towards a group of turtles in pink tutus, sipping strawberry smoothies with little umbrellas in it?

Where did they come from? *runs away*
12.) If you had to choose between beauty, curiosity, or creativity, what would you choose?
I’d choose curiosity. I don’t think beauty is as important as our society makes it out to be — even though your physical appearance is what a lot of people judge you by, you just have to be beautiful on the inside. Creativity is important, too, but curiosity is what you need to learn. It’s what holds all the answers. And that, I think, ranks a bit higher than creativity in my books.

13.) Where do you see yourself in 11 years, three months, and twenty-nine days?
I’d probably be finishing up college, studying journalism/mass broadcasting, creative writing, and/or psychology. I’m not sure exactly which one(s), but I’ve got a while to think about it. All three sound like a lot of fun.

14.) What never ceases to amaze you?
Sunsets. We get really pretty ones here in Washington — with gorgeous stripes and colors.

15.) What question have you always wanted to be asked, and never been asked? Go ahead and ask that now 🙂
Q: Do you prefer black-and-white or color photos?
A: Black and white…unless it’s a sunset or sunrise. Such colors!

16.) If someone was willing to pay you a thousand dollars to spend the day with Miley Cyrus, would you do it?
I’m not sure. If we were going to do something fun, then yes. But if it was going to be all shopping, watching movies, etc, then a big no.

17.) Do you think that kids can make a difference in the world?
I really do. Most of the time, adults underestimate what children can achieve. But we can do so much more than what an adult can achieve, because our innocence allows us to believe in ourselves and be true to who we are.

18.) If you could choose a superhero name, what would it be?
I’m not into superheroes, so this is going to be pretty tough. What about…Auriga? It’s a gorgeous name and I definitely wouldn’t mind being named after a constellation.

19.) Do you believe in wishes?
No, not really. I believe in dreams, though. Wishes are more pessimistic — they’re more of longing rather than believing. Longing won’t make you go anywhere; if anything, it’ll only send you backwards.

20.) Are there any other forms of creativity you like to express yourself through besides poetry?
I love art. Drawing, painting, and the like — especially pastel work.

Thank you so much for a great interview, Maya! 😀

Entry filed under: Blog Stuff, Interviews.

Knowing Good Titles Can Be Hard to Come By

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cuileann  |  April 22, 2009 at 8:39 pm

    Eight sections of wall? Vraiment? Is the room hexagonal?

  • 2. Maya  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    Oh hello! 😀 cuil – My room isn’t hexagonal, but it’s not a perfect rectangle or square either. My room has places where it comes in and then pushes out again…it’s an odd shape. 🙂

  • 3. Q  |  April 22, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I love oddly shaped rooms!

    I would hang out with Miley Cyrus for a day if someone paid me.

  • 4. Priya  |  April 22, 2009 at 10:27 pm

    Haha, I agree with Q. Who wouldn’t want to hang out with Miley? 😛

  • 5. erin  |  April 23, 2009 at 10:37 am

    I would hang out w/ Miley w/o getting paid.

    Anyway, really lovely interview, both of you! Lots of fun to read.

  • 6. Maribeth  |  April 23, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Great interview! I want to study the same things in college as you do, Maya. Neat!

    Those turtles sound like some pretty cool kids. I think I’d join in on their silly antics. 😉

  • 7. Maya  |  April 24, 2009 at 11:20 pm

    I just realized I never thanked you for the interview. so THANK YOU. 😀

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2009
S M T W T F S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Quote of the Week

"Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened." --Dr. Seuss

Contact Information

If you have questions, comments, concerns, or just want to say hey please contact me at: seekingneverlandofficial[at]gmail[dot]com.

Recent Posts

Blog Stats

  • 13,155 hits

